AICPA Member Awards

AICPA Honorary Gold Medal
This award was established in 1980 and recognizes an individual who is not a CPA and whose work has had a significant impact on the profession. The medal is the equivalent of the Gold Medal for Distinguished Service. This medal is awarded occasionally. AICPA staff members cannot be considered while actively employed by the AICPA. 

Public Service Award*
This award recognizes AICPA individual and firm members who have distinguished themselves in public service activities at the local, state, regional or national level.
Inquiries: Contact Sarah Gentry-Kanashrio and Jamie Geary.

* The Public Service Award has been placed on hiatus as the award criteria is reviewed and revised.

Special Recognition Award

This award is given to an individual who has contributed to the success of a particular project or initiative—contributions of an outstanding nature and where the project or initiative deserves special recognition. Given the nature of the project initiative, there could be more than one individual receiving the award. The recipient does not have to be a CPA.
Inquiries: Contact Sarah Gentry-Kanashrio and Jamie Geary.

Gold Medal Award of Distinction

The Gold Medal Award of Distinction recognizes a person whose influence on the accounting profession as a whole is especially notable in comparison to other industry leaders.

Distinguished Achievement in Accounting Education Award

This award recognizes full-time college accounting educators distinguished for excellence in teaching and innovation in curriculum development, who exemplify the philosophy of the CPA vision and are actively involved in the accounting profession at the national level.

Joint AICPA/AAA Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award

In cooperation with the American Accounting Association (AAA), this award recognizes books and/or articles deemed to make an outstanding contribution to accounting literature.

Outstanding CPA in Government Award

This award recognizes the achievements of CPAs employed in federal, state or local government and promotes the CPA designation as the premier professional credential for accounting, auditing, and finance professionals in government. Learn more about the Outstanding CPA in Government Award including eligibility requirements and nomination instructions.

AICPA Outstanding Young CPA Award
This award was created in honor of Maximo Mukelabai to recognize a young CPA (40 or younger) who personifies an unwavering commitment as demonstrated through successful practices, involvement in and contributions for the interest of the accounting profession.

AICPA Outstanding Discussion Leader Award

This award recognizes the discussion leaders that achieve the highest overall instructor knowledge and presentations scores leading AICPA seminars nationwide. Typically there are several winners each year. Recipients are eligible for the award after teaching four different courses at least two or more times during the CPE year (May-April). Minimum overall instructor knowledge/presentation skills scores are 4.80 on a 5.0 scale. Plaques and other recognition items are given to the award winners each year.