AICPA Outstanding Young CPA Award
AICPA logo
AICPA logo
  • Home

AICPA Outstanding Young CPA Award

2 months ago · 2 min watch

About the Award

The AICPA Outstanding Young CPA Award in Honor of Maximo Mukelabai recognizes a young CPA who personifies an unwavering commitment as demonstrated through successful practices, involvement in and contributions for the interest of the accounting profession.

We strongly recommend you have the professional reference form completed by your employer, state CPA society or affiliate membership organization representative, or community service organization or other professional relationship.

Application criteria

  • Be a licensed CPA between the ages of 22-40 at time of application

  • Be a regular member of the AICPA

  • Provide the following via the official application form:

    • Completed application form

    • Current resume

    • Two (2) letters of recommendation

    • A volunteer activity essay of no more than 1,000 words focusing on each of the following topics:

      • How you have demonstrated leadership within your job or volunteer activities.

      • Why volunteering is important to the accounting profession.

      • How you have positively impacted the accounting profession through volunteering.

Application & nomination process

Applications and nominations are closed for the 2023 award.

Selection process

Applications will be vetted by a volunteer committee of young CPAs. All applicants will be notified no later than April 1, 2023.

In honor of Maximo Mukelabai

This award was created in 2012 to honor Maximo Mukelabai.

Maximo was a member of the inaugural class of the AICPA Leadership Academy in 2009. Tragically, Maximo's life ended abruptly at the age of 36. He was an extraordinary individual filled with passion, intellect and inspiration; traits immediately recognized by anyone who met him.

Maximo's most recent accomplishment was made official on May 4, 2011 when he became the youngest and first African-American chair for the North Carolina Association of CPAs board of directors. Maximo's influence and leadership was felt by so many and he is sorely missed.

Previous award winners

2022 - David Almonte

2022 - Favor Lee

2022 - Dr. Adrian L. Mayse

2022 - Kenneth Omoruyi

2022 - Alexandria Romero

2022 - Dr. Sean Stein Smith

2021 - Jaclyn T. Badeau

2021 - Aaron Clayton

2021 - Jessica E. McClain

2021 - Erin E. Roche

2021 - Osei Sencherey

2020 - Joseph Rugger

2019 - Elizabeth Pittelkow Kittner

2018 - Matthew Rosenberg

2017 - Lindsay Stevenson

2016 - Danielle Supkis Cheek

2015 - Dan Griffiths

2014 - Mark K. Rich

2013 - Jeremy Dillard

2012 - Donny Shimamoto

Need help?

For questions about this application, please contact

What did you think of this?

Every bit of feedback you provide will help us improve your experience

What did you think of this?

Every bit of feedback you provide will help us improve your experience

Related content