James Shambo Receives AICPA’s Personal Financial Planning Lifetime Achievement Award

January 18, 2016

Las Vegas (Jan. 18, 2016) – James A. Shambo, CPA/PFS, has received the American Institute of CPA’s Stanley H. Breitbard Lifetime Achievement in Personal Financial Planning Award, which was announced today at the AICPA’s Advanced Personal Financial Planning Conference in Las Vegas.  Shambo, President of Lifetime Planning Concepts, Inc. of Colorado Springs, CO, was honored in part for the key role he played in launching the AICPA’s PFS (Personal Financial Specialist) credential almost 30 years ago and most recently for his major writing contribution to The CPA’s Guide to Practical Retirement Planning.
Shambo served on the executive committee of the AICPA Personal Financial Planning Division from 1990 to 1995, including as chairman from 1993 to 1995. He was the first chairman of the PFS Credential Committee, serving from 1989 to 1991.  He also served on the Colorado Specialization Oversight Board, which created the PFS designation, from 1984-1987 and served on several AICPA PFS-related committees from 1986 to 1995.  He is a member of the Colorado Society of CPAs. 

 “The value of Jim’s contributions to the establishment of the PFS credential and his role in increasing the awareness of the work CPAs do in personal financial planning is incalculable,” said Jeannette Koger, CPA/CGMA, AICPA vice president of Member Specialization and Credentialing.  “He was literally there from the beginning and continues to make a substantial impact on the AICPA’s personal financial planning initiatives to this day.”

Shambo received the  Distinguished Service Award from the AICPA PFP Division in 1999 and special recognition in 2011 for his years of outstanding contributions to the PFS credential.  He has been named among the Best Financial Advisers in the United States by Worth magazine for seven years and twice in Bloomberg’s Wealth Manager’s Top Dog listing.  He has been listed in Accounting Today as one of the Top 100 Most Influential People and in the Names to Know in Financial Planning for several years.

 “It is an honor to present Jim with this prestigious award,” added Lyle Benson, acting chairman of the AICPA’s PFP Executive Committee.  “His exemplary contributions over the course of his long career to the financial planning profession and the AICPA’s Personal Financial Planning Division are what this award is about.” 

The criteria for the award, which was first given in 2011, include 25 years of experience in financial planning and 15 years of AICPA volunteer work in personal financial planning.  Recipients must have unquestioned integrity and professionalism and exemplify the personal, ethical, and professional characteristics of the model CPA advisor. The recipient must be approved by the current and past two chairmen of the PFP Executive Committee, as well as the Committee members.