AICPA 'Standing Ovation' Honors Top Young CPAs in Information Management and Technology Assurance

19 Recipients Recognized at the AICPA Practitioners Symposium and Tech+ Conference

June 6, 2016

LAS VEGAS (June 6, 2016) - The American Institute of CPAs today honored 19 young CPAs for their contributions to the areas of information management and technology assurance with the first annual Standing Ovation, which recognizes the best young CPAs in various specialty credential areas. The recipients, all talented CPAs age 40 and under who hold the Certified Information Technology Professional (CITP) specialty credential, were announced at the AICPA's Practitioners Symposium and Tech+ Conference in Las Vegas.

The Standing Ovation program, launched last year, recognizes young CPAs who exhibit outstanding professional achievement in specialization areas. Nomination requirements for the Standing Ovation program in the Information Management and Technology Assurance (IMTA) specialty area include maintaining an active CPA license, being an AICPA member in good standing, holding the CITP credential and exhibiting outstanding professional achievement. Nominees must also be 40 years of age or under.

“The AICPA created the Standing Ovation program to recognize rising stars who have gone above and beyond in the specialty areas,” said Jeannette Koger, CPA, CGMA, the AICPA's vice president of member specialization and credentialing. “These accomplished young professionals in the areas of information management and technology assurance are well on their way to becoming leaders in our profession.”

Recipients of this year’s Standing Ovation in information management and technology assurance will be recognized on the IMTA Section website and during the IMTA town hall, the opening general session of Tech+ portion of the conference.

In addition to the IMTA category, the Standing Ovation program recognizes young CPAs who exhibit exemplary professional achievement in personal financial planning, forensic accounting and business valuation. 

Business partners or managers are encouraged to submit applications on behalf of nominees, and applicants also are permitted to nominate themselves with an accompanying letter of recommendation from a partner or manager.

The list of IMTA Standing Ovation recipients (in alphabetical order):

  • Sundeep Bablani, 37, Austin, Tex.
  • Jim Boomer, 39, Manhattan, Kan.
  • Kelly Cassidy, 33, Englewood, N.J.
  • Jeffrey Cook, 36, Vienna, Va.
  • Troy Fine, 29, Pittsburgh, Pa.
  • Julie Gustavsson, 35, Glen Allen, Va.
  • Justin Harmon, 37, Eastman, Ga.
  • Marie Hibbert, 35, Debary, Fla.
  • Apoorve Jain, 31, Phoenix, Ariz.
  • Dale Livezey, 39, San Francisco, Calif.
  • Matthew O’Leary, 27, New York, N.Y.
  • Chris Pinell, 31, Covington, La.
  • Elizabeth Pittelkow, 33, Chicago, Ill.
  • Ketul Raval, 37, Shelton, Conn.
  • Brent Reese, 32, Columbia, S.C.
  • Donny Shimamoto, 39, Honolulu, Hawaii
  • Mike Skinner, 34, Memphis, Tenn.
  • Kyle Viele, 33, Midlothian, Va.
  • Su Wah, 37, Houston, Tex.

For more information about the IMTA Standing Ovation program, visit the online application page.