Five Students Receive AICPA’s Carey Scholarship Award to Pursue Graduate Accounting Degrees

Scholarships Awarded to Students with Liberal Arts and Other Non-Traditional Business Backgrounds

December 8, 2016

Contact: James Schiavone, 212-596-6119,

New York (December 8, 2016) – The AICPA is pleased to announce that five outstanding students have been named recipients of the 2016-2017 AICPA John L. Carey Scholarship Award. The one-year scholarship award, part of the AICPA’s Legacy Scholars Program, is bestowed upon students from liberal arts and other non-traditional business backgrounds who are pursuing graduate accounting degrees and plan to become CPAs.


The winners are:

  • Drew Hardy, Kennesaw State University
  • Marc Karpinos, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Gina Laret, University of Southern California
  • Jessica Myers, University of Texas at Austin
  • Jasper Suh, University of California at Irvine


Each recipient has received a scholarship for $5,000 to help cover tuition and other educational expenses. The funding is provided by a contribution to the AICPA Foundation in honor of John L. Carey, who retired from the AICPA in 1969 after an illustrious 40-year career with the Institute. He served as administrative vice president, executive director, editor and publisher of the Journal of Accountancy. Carey was known for encouraging exemplary students from all backgrounds to become CPAs throughout his career - both as a CPA and as a professor at universities in Georgia and Illinois.


“The route to entering the accounting profession is not always a linear one and there are many different paths that people follow as they satisfy the requirements to earn their CPA license,” said AICPA Foundation President and former AICPA Chairman of the Board Randy Fletchall. “The different backgrounds and experiences of CPAs contribute to a greater diversity of perspectives within the profession and serve to make us stronger as a whole.”


Recipients of the John L. Carey Scholarship were selected by a task force that considered their applications, academic transcripts, recommendation letters, and personal essays. Applicants are chosen based on academic achievement, leadership and commitment to pursuing a CPA license. Additionally, applicants must be full-time graduate-level students for the upcoming academic year.

The AICPA John L. Carey Scholarship Award is one of four scholarship awards available through the 
AICPA Legacy Scholars program. The program was created in 2011 and awards recipients a one-year AICPA scholarship while helping to develop the soft skills needed to sustain a successful career. Scholarship recipients perform eight hours of service each semester planning and executing events on campus to advocate for the accounting profession.


The AICPA Legacy Scholars program will provide more than 100 scholarships for the 2016-2017 academic year, totaling more than $630,000 for students across the nation. AICPA Legacy Scholars are Student Affiliate Members of the AICPA, which is a free-membership option available to college students. Each AICPA Legacy Scholar is given access to a coach who provides mentoring for the student’s service events and guidance about a career in the accounting profession.


Each eligible AICPA Legacy Scholarship applicant must have a minimum GPA of 3.0 and completed at least 30 semester hours in college-level coursework, including six semester hours in accounting. A task force comprised of AICPA Student Recruitment Committee members, and CPA volunteers selected the recipients based on academic achievement; demonstration of leadership and volunteerism; and overall commitment to becoming a licensed CPA.


The application deadline for the 2017-2018 AICPA Legacy Scholarship is April 1, 2017. More information about the Legacy Scholars Program and other scholarship awards offered to accounting students is available online.