AICPA Recognizes Educators with Three Accounting Curriculum Awards

October 7, 2013

Contact: James Schiavone, 212-596-6119, 

New York, (October 7, 2013)
 – The American Institute of CPAs today announced the 2013 recipients of three accounting curriculum awards. The annual awards are bestowed upon educators who demonstrate innovative teaching practices in one of three distinct educational levels: in the first sequence of accounting, junior- and senior-level accounting courses and at the graduate level.

“It is critical that the education University accounting students receive prepares them to enter a profession which serves the needs of individuals, small businesses, and large companies in a dynamic marketplace,” said Jeannie Patton, Vice President, Academics, Professional Pathways and Inclusion. “These award winning entries showcase the kind of teaching needed to instill students with the competencies they need to serve the public interest, both domestically and globally.”

The recipient of the 2013 Bea Sanders/AICPA Innovation in Teaching Award for innovative teaching practices in the first sequence of accounting is Markus Ahrens, Professor of Accounting at St. Louis Community College. Aherns was recognized for his work implementing greater teamwork and student collaboration within the classroom, resulting in increased attendance, improvement in student grades and higher overall student success rates.

Marion E. McHugh Assistant Professor in the Business and Accounting Department,  Furman University and Paul Polinski, Lecturer of Accountancy, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign have been honored with the 2013 George Krull/Grant Thornton Teaching Innovation Award in recognition of their innovative teaching of  junior- and senior-level accounting courses. Their curriculum centered around a project which provides students with an opportunity to engage in critical thinking about the appropriate separation of duties in the purchases and disbursements transaction cycles.

The winners of the 2013 Mark Chain/FSA Teaching Innovation Award for innovative graduate-level accounting teaching practices are Jennifer Butler Ellis, Mark E. Riley and Rebecca Toppe Shortridge from Northern Illinois University. Their Master of Accounting Science program incorporated a workshop to ensure graduates had not only technical accounting knowledge, but also leadership and communications skills.

The winners’ curricula, along with those of past winners, are included as part of the Accounting Professors' Curriculum Resource, AICPA’s curriculum tool. The Curriculum Resource offers accounting curricula specifically designed to encourage faculty and engage accounting students while furthering their knowledge of the profession. Access to the tool is limited to AICPA members.

AICPA, The Federation of Schools of Accountancy and Grant Thornton will cover the winners’ travel expenses to the 2014 American Accounting Association annual meeting, which will provide them with the opportunity to present their curriculum in person and receive their awards.

“The AICPA would like to thank the AAA for providing the winners an opportunity to present their curriculum and FSA and Grant Thornton for their contributions to make those presentations possible,” added Patton.

The following individuals received honorable mention recognition for their submissions:

Bea Sanders/AICPA Innovation in Teaching Award:

·         Edward Bysiek, St. Bonaventure University

·         Curtis M. Nicholls and Stacy A. Mastrolia, Bucknell University

George Krull/Grant Thornton Teaching Innovation Award:

·         Kelly Richmond Pope, DePaul University

·         Rita Grant, Grand Valley State University

·         Carol M. Jessup, University of Illinois-Springfield

Mark Chain/FSA Teaching Innovation Award:

·         Mark Holtzblatt and John Geekie, Cleveland State University, Norbert Tschakert, Salem State University

·         Rosemary Fullerton, Utah State University

The award winners are selected by the Pre-certification Education Executive Committee of AICPA, which assists the academic community in preparing students with the core competencies needed for entry into the profession.

More information about the AICPA educator awards, including submission criteria, can be found online.