Students from The University of Texas at Dallas Awarded First Place in the 2012 AICPA Accounting Competition

Team of 4 Undergraduate Students Earn $10,000 for Proposal on Income Tax Reform

December 19, 2012

Washington, DC  (Dec. 19, 2012) — The American Institute of CPAs today named students from The University of Texas at Dallas champions of the 2012 AICPA Accounting Competition.

Students from Albion College took second place and received a $5,000 award. The third-place team from North Carolina State University received $2,500. 

This year’s competition challenged teams from around the country to advise a hypothetical presidential candidate on viable solutions to some of the most pressing economic concerns facing the nation - Social Security, the national deficit, and income tax.

“CPAs are known for proposing creative and intelligent solutions to complex problems,” said Rich Caturano, CPA, CGMA, AICPA Chairman, who announced the winners in Washington, D.C. yesterday afternoon. “I was impressed with the quality of the proposals the finalists presented, as well as their ability to articulate their vision in an engaging and easy to understand manner. The skills they demonstrated will serve them well throughout their careers in the profession.”

Student teams from around the country entered initial proposals, with 20 chosen to participate in the Semi-finals. Semi-final teams submitted video proposals to be posted on ThisWayToCPA, so the public could vote on the best ideas. Those results and a review of an executive judging panel narrowed the field to three final teams, which traveled to Washington, DC earlier this week to present to a panel of judges and participate in a question and answer session.

The University of Texas at Dallas’s winning submission discussed their presidential candidate's platform on tax reform and explored the details of how they would solve the issues faced today by simplifying the code and making it easier to understand.

Members of the University of Texas at Dallas team, named Working Capitol, are:

April Crawford (Captain)

Shahrzad Azimi (Member)

Trey Sweeney (Member)

Samuel Teichelman (Member)

John Barden (Faculty advisor)

All awards are fully funded by the AICPA Foundation.

For more information about the competition or to watch the video submissions, visit

Media Contact: James Schiavone, 212-596-6119,