The Pathways Commission Announces Recommendation Leaders

November 12, 2012

AICPA Contact: James Schiavone, 212-596-6119,

New York (November 11, 2012)
- Today the Pathways Commission announced the twelve Recommendation Leaders who will implement recommendations set forth in the Pathways Commission Report.

The Pathways Commission was created by the AAA and AICPA to study the future structure of higher education for the accounting profession and to develop recommendations for educational pathways for students, academics, practitioners, and others in the practice and study of accounting.

For each of the six ongoing recommendations in the Report, two Recommendation Leaders have agreed to constitute task forces charged with implementing action items.  These leaders come from a wide range of organizations and have extensive, broad education and industry experiences:

Recommendation 1: Build a learned profession for the future by purposeful integration of accounting research, education, and practice for students, accounting practitioners, and educators.

  • D. Scott Showalter,  Professor of Practice, North Carolina State University and former Partner KPMG

  • Jon S. Davis, Department Chair, Professor and the R.C. Evans Endowed Chair in Business, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Recommendation 2: Develop mechanisms to meet future demand for faculty by unlocking doctoral education via flexible pedagogies in existing programs and by exploring alternative pathways to terminal degrees that align with institutional missions and accounting education and research goals.

  • Dana Hermanson, Professor and Dinos Eminent Scholar Chair of Private Enterprise, Kenesaw State University

  • Terry Shevlin, Professor and The Paul Merage Chair in Business, University of California at Irvine


Recommendation 3: Reform accounting education so that teaching is respected and rewarded as a critical component in achieving each institution’s mission.

  • Jan R. Williams, Dean and The Stokely Foundation Leadership Chair, University of Tennesssee

  • William W. Holder, Dean of the Leventhal School of Accounting and Alan Casden Dean's Chair

Recommendation 4: Develop curriculum models, engaging learning resources, and mechanisms for easily sharing them as well as enhancing faculty development opportunities in support of sustaining a robust curriculum.

  • Gail Hoover King, Professor of Accounting, Purdue University at Calumet

  • Jack E. Wilkerson Jr., Professor and Academic Director of Accounting Programs, Wake Forest University

Recommendation 5: Improve the ability to attract high-potential, diverse entrants into the profession.

  • Ellen J. Glazerman, Executive Director of the Ernst & Young Foundation, and the America's Director of University Relations for Ernst & Young LLP

  • Mikel G. Tiller, Chair of Accounting Graduate Programs, Indiana University

Recommendation 6: Create mechanisms for collecting, analyzing, and disseminating information about the current and future markets for accounting professionals and accounting faculty.

  • Jim Young, Department Chair and Crowe Horwath Professor, Northern Illinois University

  • Sanjay Gupta, Associate Dean for MBA and Professional Master's Programs and Russell E. Palmer Endowed Professor in Accounting, Michigan State University

Recommendation 7 calls for the continued engagement of the accounting education and practice communities to implement these and future recommendations. The Recommendation Leaders will be seeking volunteers and leaders to populate task forces become engaged in shaping the future of the accounting profession. 

Co-chairs Bill Ezzell and Mark Higgins, the 12 Recommendation Leaders, and sponsors representatives from the AAA (Bruce Behn, Department Head and Ergen Professor of Business, The University of Tennessee, and Tracey Sutherland, Executive Director of the American Accounting Association) and AICPA (George Krull, Chair of the AICPA Foundation Board and Partner Grant Thornton (retired) and Randy Fletchall Vice-Chair of the AICPA Foundation Board and Partner, Ernst and Young (retired)), will meet Atlanta the end of November to begin the next phase of the Pathways Commission’s work.