AICPA Announces Carey Award Winners

Total of $50,000 in Scholarships Awarded to 10 Students

September 29, 2011

New York (September 29, 2011) – The American Institute of CPAs today announced ten recipients of the John L. Carey Scholarship, which are awarded annually to students with little or no previous accounting education who intend to pursue graduate accounting degrees and become CPAs.

The 2011-2012 recipients are:

Daniel Astrop, Vanderbilt University

Justin C. Brown, University of Southern California

Sarah Fisher, Northeastern University

Michele Keener, University of Montana

Suzanne Niemoth, DePaul University

Jennifer Smit, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Rebecca Sobey, Vanderbilt University

Heather Upham, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Brandon Wenzel, University of Texas at Austin

Scott Wingo, University of Texas at Austin

“As the award winners transition into the profession, their diverse educational backgrounds will complement their accounting degree and provide them a broad knowledge base to draw from,” said AICPA Foundation President Bill Travis. “We welcome them into the profession with open arms.”

Each recipient will receive $5,000 to cover tuition and other educational expenses, with funding provided by an endowment of the AICPA Foundation in honor of John L. Carey. Carey retired from the AICPA in 1969 after a 40-year career with the Institute. Throughout his career he worked to encourage outstanding students to become CPAs, a passion he continued in retirement as a professor at universities in Georgia and Illinois.

Recipients of the Carey Scholarship are selected by a task force which considers applicants based on academic achievement, leadership and commitment to pursuing the CPA licensure.  Applicants must be full-time graduate level students for the upcoming academic year.

“Being recognized with the John L. Carey Scholarship strengthens my confidence that I can be a successful CPA,” said Daniel Astrop, an award recipient and first year graduate student at Vanderbilt University. “I am grateful to the AICPA for supporting me on my path to a career in public accounting.”

The application deadline for the 2012-2013 AICPA John L. Carey Scholarship program is April 1, 2012.

For more information about this and other AICPA scholarship programs, visit