Stat Corner

A recent survey of affluent Americans, conducted before the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 was signed into law, found that three-in-five are likely to adjust their financial plans according to changes in tax policy. The survey found that affluent adults understand the value of a financial planner with substantial tax expertise. By nearly a nine-to-one ratio, (53 percent more likely versus 6 percent less likely) affluent Americans say working with individuals, such as a CPA financial planner, would make them more likely to reach their financial goals.

Other key findings of the survey:

  • The most important aspects of a financial plan cited were retirement savings and income, tax efficiency of savings and investment, and healthcare planning.
  • Eighty-seven percent of affluent adults say they would be more likely to reach at least one of their financial goals with a tax-efficient financial plan. The most frequently cited goal they would be more likely to reach was avoiding outliving assets in retirement.
  • Ninety percent of affluent adults said that effective tax planning would be either very or somewhat important to their overall financial well-being in retirement.

 

Hot Topics

AICPA TV

Cyber Security and the Accounting Profession. 

Sue Coffey, CPA, CGMA, Executive Vice President - Public Practice, AICPA 

Amy Pawlicki, Directtor - Business Reporting, Assurance & Advisory Services - AICPA 

More on AICPA TV

Media Relations Team

Jay Hyde
Senior Director - Media Relations (DC)
(202) 434-9266
Jay.Hyde@aicpa-cima.com
Contact Jay for inquiries related to auditing and advocacy (congressional and regulatory matters).


Gil Nielsen
Director - Media Relations (NY)
(212) 596-6008
Gilbert.Nielsen@aicpa-cima.com
Contact Gil for general inquiries.


Shirley Twillman
Senior Manager - Media Relations
(202) 434-9220
Shirley.Twillman@aicpa-cima.com
Contact Shirley for inquiries related to tax issues.


James Schiavone
Senior Manager - Public Relations
(212) 596-6119
James.Schiavone@aicpa-cima.com
Contact James for inquiries related to the CPA Exam, accounting education and careers, personal financial planning and financial literacy.


Jeff May
Lead Manager - Media Relations
(212) 596-6122
Jeffrey.May@aicpa-cima.com
Contact Jeff for inquiries related to CPA.com, accounting technology, practice management and AICPA products.


Colette Sharbaugh
Senior Manager - CGMA Communications and Public Relations
(202) 434-9212
Colette.Sharbaugh@aicpa-cima.com
Contact Colette for inquiries related to the CGMA designation and
management accounting.


Jonathan Lynch
Manager - Public Relations
(212) 596-6033
Jonathan.Lynch@aicpa-cima.com
Contact Jonathan for inquiries related to financial literacy and personal financial planning.


Jackie Hyland
Manager - Public Relations
(919) 490 - 4387
Jackie.Hyland@aicpa-cima.com
Contact Jackie for inquiries related to accounting and auditing issues.


Brian Simpson
Manager - Public Relations
(919) 402 - 4641
Brian.Simpson@aicpa-cima.com
Contact Brian for inquiries related to fraud, forensics and business valuations.

**For all other media inquiries, any member of the team will be happy to assist you.**