AICPA Awards 25 Fellowships Minority Scholars
AICPA logo
AICPA logo
  • Home
rolled up magazine

AICPA Awards 25 Fellowships Minority Scholars

Oct 31, 2018 · 2 min read

New York (Oct. 31, 2018) - Continuing their efforts to foster diversity among accounting faculty, the American Institute of CPAs (AICPA) has awarded its annual Minority Doctoral Fellowship. Each of this year’s recipients will be given $12,000 to aid them on their journey towards becoming accounting professors and serve as role models to future CPAs.

“By providing these Fellowships, the AICPA is helping to build a more diverse accounting profession,” said Steve Matzke, director of faculty and university initiatives at the Association of International Certified Professional Accountants “The AICPA believes that a workforce better reflecting the communities it serves will position the profession to serve their clients well into the future.”

“The fellowship allows me to really focus on being successful in my program as I work towards my goal of becoming a university educator,” said Ryan Ballestero, a CPA working toward his Ph.D. in accounting at the University of Texas-Austin and a 2019-2019 Minority Doctoral Fellowship recipient. “Through the annual AICPA networking event, the fellowship has provided me with an opportunity to connect with other students and faculty who have a similar background and career path as me.”

The 2018-2019 Minority Doctoral Fellowship recipients are listed below along with the doctoral program they are attending:

  • Ryan C. Ballestero, University of Texas-Austin

  • Joye L. (Baugh) Norwood, Jackson State University

  • Candice Boucree, Louisiana State University

  • Jerome D. Conley, University of Tennessee

  • LaToya Flint, University of Mississippi

  • Danielle Gant, Texas Tech University

  • Claudia C. Hernandez, Florida International University

  • Andria Hill, University of Central Florida

  • Brittani Shantel Jackson, Indiana University

  • Ethan LaMothe, University of South Carolina

  • Carissa Malone, Virginia Tech University

  • Ann Mungai, Florida Atlantic University

  • Patricia Navarro-Velez, University of Central Florida

  • Christian S. Paparcuri, Arizona State University

  • Clay Partridge, University of Wisconsin-Madison

  • Iguehi Rajsky, Temple University

  • Edgar Rodriguez, University of Washington

  • Giovani Rodriguez Martinez, Texas Tech University

  • Andrea Rozario, Rutgers University

  • Christina Ruiz Mueller, Arizona State University

  • Nuria Seijas, University of Arizona

  • Syrena Shirley, Pennsylvania State University

  • Phylicia G. Taylor, Jackson State University

  • Andrea Tillet, Florida State University

  • Kimberly Walker, University of Wisconsin-Madison

The Minority Doctoral Fellowship is one of several AICPA initiatives aimed at cultivating a diverse and inclusive accounting profession. All Minority Doctoral Fellows must be ethnic minorities and U.S. citizens or permanent residents, who have earned a master’s degree or worked at least three years full-time in the accounting profession.

The 2019-20 application will be available on March 1st, 2019. A full list of requirements and information about other scholarship awards offered to accounting students are available at ThisWaytoCPA.

The Minority Doctoral Fellowships are funded by the AICPA Foundation.

Media Contact:
James Schiavone

What did you think of this?

Every bit of feedback you provide will help us improve your experience

What did you think of this?

Every bit of feedback you provide will help us improve your experience

Mentioned in this article


Manage preferences

Related content