Pathway to the CEIV Credential

There are multiple points of entry based on each candidate's professional background. Your point of entry will dictate your respective credential requirements. Take the guesswork out of determining your requirements. Visit the CEIV Pathway Tool to identify your customized pathway to the CEIV credential. 

Step 1: Learn 

Develop specialized knowledge through self-study courses and live educational events. Maximizing your valuation and fair value measurement knowledge helps unlock new opportunities and enhance the services you offer. In addition, download the pathway infographic to learn even more about how to take your career to the next level.

Step 2: Pass the Exams

All CEIV candidates will be required to demonstrate competency in fundamental valuation principles and fair value measurements by successfully passing two examinations/assessments:

Valuation Exam

Passing the AICPA’s Accredited in Business Valuation (ABV) Exam or one of the other qualifying valuation exams below* is required as a step toward obtaining the CEIV credential. To pass the AICPA’s ABV Exam, use the resources offered by the AICPA, including the Content Specification Outline and the AICPA’s ABV Exam Review Course.

*Other Qualifying Valuation Exams include Accredited Senior Appraiser (ASA) BV201-204 or Challenge Exams, Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) Exams, Chartered Business Valuator (CBV) Exam, or Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS) Assessment of Professional Competence (APC) or Senior Professional Assessment (SPA) on Valuation of Businesses and Intangible Assets.


Passing the CEIV Exam is also a required step toward the CEIV credential. The CEIV Exam is a two-part exam that is based on the CEIV body of knowledge and the Mandatory Performance Framework and its related applications. To pass the CEIV Exam, use the resources offered by the AICPA and complete the CEIV Pathway Education related to the CEIV body of knowledge and the Mandatory Performance Framework.
Learn more about the CEIV Exam >>

Step 3: Gain Experience

CEIV candidates must meet minimum valuation and fair value measurement related experience requirements. There are multiple points of entry based on your professional background which will dictate your respective pathway requirements. Visit the Eligibility Requirements for more information on these requirements.

Step 4: Get Credentialed

After passing the valuation and CEIV Exams and meeting the related education and experience requirements, you must next apply for the CEIV credential, granted by the AICPA to qualified individuals who demonstrate considerable expertise in fair value measurements of entities and intangible assets for financial reporting purposes through their knowledge, skills and experience.