Distinguished Achievement in Accounting Education Awards 

Honoring Janet L. Colbert and Donald E. Tidrick 

The AICPA Distinguished Achievement in Accounting Education Awards recognizes full-time college accounting professors who excel as educators and who have achieved national prominence in the accounting profession. In 2013, for the first time, two educators have been selected to receive this distinguished achievement.  This year's honorees were announced at the AICPA's Spring Council Meeting.

Dr. Jan Colbert, PhD, CPA, CIA, Cr.FA
is a Professor of Accounting at Eastern Kentucky University where she teaches in the MBA program and at the undergraduate level.  Previously, she served as the James R. Meany Chair of Accounting at Western Kentucky University; Dr. Colbert taught at Auburn University prior to that. 

Dr. Colbert has published over 100 articles on topics including sampling, internal control, ethics, and corporate governance.  She also served on the Kentucky State Board of Accountancy as well as on the Board of Directors of the Kentucky Society of CPAs.  She chaired the Audit Committee overseeing the audit section of the CPA Exam for the AICPA and also served on the Content Committee for the Exam.  Dr. Colbert has won a number of teaching, research, and service awards, including teaching awards at each on the universities where she has taught (EKU, WKU, and Auburn).

Dr. Colbert received her undergraduate degree from the University of Illinois, her MBA from Auburn, and her PhD from the University of Georgia.

Jack Dyer Excellence in Teaching Award at EKU
MBA Teacher of the Year, 2006, Western KY Univ.
Outstanding Accounting Professor, BAP, Auburn University, 1986
Outstanding Faculty Member Award, College of Business, Auburn Univ, 1986


Donald E. Tidrick, Ph.D., CPA, CMA, CIA
is the Deloitte Professor of Accountancy at Northern Illinois University, where he joined the faculty in 2000.  In 2007, he received the Thomas J. Burns Biographical Research Award from the Academy of Accounting Historians and the National Author Award from the Association of Government Accountants.  He received the Illinois CPA Society’s Outstanding Accounting Educator Award in 2010.  In 2012, he received Beta Alpha Psi’s Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award. 

Before joining NIU, Tidrick was on faculty at the University of Texas at Austin, where he was the director of UT’s prestigious five-year Professional Program in Accounting, and the director of the University of Texas CPA Review Course, among other responsibilities.  In the 1990s, he served on the editorial board (and was also the technical editor) of Today’s CPA, the membership magazine of the Texas Society of CPAs.  Before going to Texas, Tidrick was on faculty at the University of Notre Dame, where he became close to his department chair, Leonard M. Savoie, who was the first CPA to serve fulltime as the chief staff officer (now called “President”) of the AICPA from 1967-1972. 

Tidrick has an extensive record of service to a variety of professional and academic organizations.   In 2004, then Comptroller General of the United States David M. Walker appointed him to be one of two accounting professors in the country on his Educators’ Advisory Panel, which has continued under Comptroller General Gene L. Dodaro.  Tidrick has served on a variety of committees and task forces related to the American Accounting Association and its Auditing Section.  He continues to serve on the Illinois CPA Society’s Ethics Committee.

He earned his BSBA in accounting and his Ph.D. from The Ohio State University and his MBA from the University of Wisconsin – Madison.  Prior to pursuing his Ph.D., Tidrick was an auditor in the Columbus (Ohio) office of a now Big Four firm and taught evening classes at OSU, which led him into the doctoral program and a rewarding academic career. 




© 2017 Association of International Certified Professional Accountants. All rights reserved.