CPA Exam Scoring

Your score for each section of the CPA Exam is reported on a scale that ranges from 0 to 99. To pass a section, you must score a minimum of 75. Your total reported score does not represent a percentage correct, nor can you interpret it as such. Scores are not curved.

Your total score in the AUD, FAR, and REG sections is a weighted combination of scaled scores from multiple-choice questions (MCQs) and task-based simulations (TBSs).

For the BEC section, your total score is a weighted combination of the scaled scores from the MCQs, TBSs, and written communication tasks.

Scaled scores on the MCQ and TBS portions of the Exam are calculated using formulas that take into account factors such as whether the question was answered correctly and the relative difficulty of each question. For MCQs only, the Exam uses a multistage adaptive test delivery model (see testlet selection graphic). Your first testlet will be given at a level of moderate difficulty. The next testlet will be the same level or slightly more difficult based on your performance. More information on the use of multistage adaptive questions may be found in the scoring FAQs.

Testlet selection

Steps in computing your score:

AUD, FAR and REG sections


BEC Section

To learn more about Exam scoring, please read the scoring FAQs To find out when you can expect to get your scores, view the score release dates. Pass rates for each section of the Exam are announced quarterly.

When you fail an Exam section, you’ll receive a Candidate Performance Report that assesses your performance on that specific section.