Elijah Watt Sells Award

Elijah Watt Sells Award Digital Badge

Each spring, the AICPA bestows its Elijah Watt Sells Award upon high-performing candidates who meet the following criteria:

  • Obtained a cumulative average score above 95.50 across all four sections of the CPA Exam
  • Passed all four sections of the Exam on the first attempt

The AICPA has bestowed the Elijah Watt Sells Award on candidates for outstanding performance on the Uniform CPA Examination® since 1923. Sells was one of the country’s first CPAs. He was active in the establishment of the AICPA and played a key role helping to advance professional education in the profession. 

How will I know if I’m eligible for the award?

If you meet all the above-mentioned eligibility requirements, the AICPA will reach out to you to confirm your eligibility. 

When will I be notified of my eligibility? 

Generally, the AICPA will reach out to eligible recipients in the spring of the following year in which testing was completed (e.g. if you pass your final section in 2020, you would be notified and  receive the award in spring 2021).

Do I need to apply to be considered for the award?

No, there is no application process required. If you meet all the above-mentioned eligibility requirements, you are automatically considered eligible for the award.  

Is there a formal award or recognition ceremony for those who win the award?

No, but all eligible recipients will receive a physical plaque and a digital badge that can be placed on their professional social media pages.

What if I think I’m eligible for the award but am not contacted to confirm my eligibility? 

If you think you have met all eligibility requirements but have not been contacted by the AICPA to confirm, please contact your State Board or NASBA, as they are the ones who process and provide the list of all eligible recipients to the AICPA.