State Boards of Accountancy General Information

October 24, 2013


What are the state Boards of Accountancy?

The state Boards of Accountancy are regulatory agencies that are responsible for administering the uniform CPA examination, licensing of certified public accountants (CPAs) and CPA firms, regulating the public accounting practice, continuing professional education, and peer review.  There are a total of 55 boards; one board for each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, and the Commonwealth of the North Mariana Islands. 

Who represents them?

The National Association of Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) represents the 55 state boards and enhances their effectiveness by acting as a forum for accounting regulators and practitioners to address issues relevant to the viability of the accounting profession.  NASBA’s goal is to be the leading source of comprehensive and accurate information and services that enhance the efficiency of the regulatory process.

Why are they important?

The AICPA and NASBA have joined together on multiple projects designed to benefit the accounting profession.  Some examples of projects include promoting Peer Review (method for relicensing mandated by a state’s Board of Accountancy), (free online tool that allows CPAs and firms across the country understand the implications of individual CPA mobility), and the Uniform Accountancy Act (model rules promoting uniformity in the regulations governing the practice of accountancy).

Links to each state Board of Accountancy can be found here.