Former AICPA Tax Executive Committee Chair Named to IRS Advisory Council

former AICPA Tax Executive Committee Chair Patricia A. Thompson, CPA, PFS, MST
Patricia A. Thompson, CPA, PFS, MST

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has announced the appointment of former AICPA Tax Executive Committee Chair Patricia A. Thompson, CPA, PFS, MST to its Internal Revenue Service Advisory Council (IRSAC).  She will serve a three-year term.

The IRSAC, established in 1953, is an organized public forum for IRS officials and representatives of the public to discuss various issues in tax administration. The council provides the IRS Commissioner with relevant feedback, observations and recommendations. 

Thompson is a tax partner with Piccerelli, Gilstein & Company, LLP in Providence, R.I.  She has extensive experience in complex tax transactions, including multi-state tax returns, real estate transactions and like-kind exchanges. 

She has testified on numerous occasions before the United States Congress, the IRS and the IRS Oversight Board during her more than 20 years as a dedicated AICPA volunteer.  She is currently the chair of the Relations with the Bar Committee and also chaired the AICPA Tax Executive Committee from 2011-2012.  Thompson has served as a member of the AICPA’s Governing Council, the IRS Advocacy and Relations Committee, the Tax Legislation and Policy Committee, the Tax Reform Task Force, the Individual and Self-Employed Tax Technical Resource Panel and on a number of other tax committees and task forces.

In 2014, Thompson received the AICPA’s Arthur J. Dixon Memorial Award, the profession’s highest honor bestowed by the accounting profession in the area of taxation.