AICPA Task Force Continues Review of Tax Reform Legislation

July 30, 2014

The American Institute of CPAs' (AICPA) Tax Reform Task Force met on July 1 to review recommendations from each of the AICPA’s tax committees and technical resource panels about provisions in House Ways and Means Committee Chairman Dave Camp’s draft tax reform proposal, the Tax Reform Act of 2014.

While it is unlikely that tax reform legislation will be approved by the end of the year when this Congress ends, Chairman Camp’s draft bill may be the basis for action by the House of Representatives in the next Congress.  The discussion draft was released in statutory language and has been scored by the Joint Committee on Taxation.  Therefore, the AICPA will formulate recommendations related to the provisions in the draft proposal that have been identified as most important by AICPA’s tax committees and technical resource panels.

The members of the task force who attended the July 1 meeting are Jeff Porter, Troy Lewis, Don Longano, Mel Schwarz, Annette Nellen, Patricia Thompson, Thomas Purcell, Gillian Spooner, David Lifson, Ginger Ittenbach and Anita Soucy.  AICPA Director of Tax Advocacy Melissa Labant, Senior Technical Manager for Tax Advocacy Eileen Sherr and tax advocacy technical managers Melanie Lauridsen, Jason Cha, Amy Wang and Kristin Esposito also participated.

Pictured from left to right are Tax Executive Committee Chair Jeff Porter, who is the new chair of the Tax Reform Task Force, Former Tax Reform Task Force Chair Don Longano, and Director of Tax Advocacy Melissa Labant.