By Document Type

By Topic

Press Release



Shirley Twillman

AICPA Honors Patricia A. Thompson With Arthur J. Dixon Memorial Award 

Published November 05, 2014

Washington, D.C., November 5, 2014 – Patricia A. Thompson is the recipient of the 2014 Arthur J. Dixon Memorial Award, the highest honor bestowed by the accounting profession in the area of taxation.  The award, given by the Tax Division of the American Institute of CPAs (AICPA), was presented today at the AICPA’s Fall Tax Division Meeting in Washington, D.C. by Jeffrey A. Porter, owner of Porter & Associates in Huntington, W.Va. 

Thompson is a tax partner with Piccerelli Gilstein & Co in Providence, R.I.  She focuses on closely held business owners and their businesses in the manufacturing, real estate, service and wholesale industries.  Thompson is a nationally-recognized expert on tax policy.  She has testified on numerous occasions before Congress, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and the IRS Oversight Board.  In addition, she often testifies at hearings of the Rhode Island legislature on pending legislation.  In 2009, she was a member of the Rhode Island Governor’s Tax Policy Workgroup.

Thompson’s dedicated volunteer service to the AICPA spans more than 20 years.  She has chaired, and served on, the AICPA’s Tax Executive Committee and the Individual Taxation Committee.  Thompson also chaired the Tax Executive Committee’s Strategic Planning Task Force.  She is now serving on the IRS Advocacy and Relations Committee, the Tax Reform Task Force and the AICPA Nominations Committee.  She has been a member of the AICPA’s Governing Council, the Tax Legislation and Policy Committee, the Domestic Interspousal Tax Relations Task Force, the Residential Sales Issues Task Force, the Preparer Regulation Task Force and the International Federation of Accountants Convergence Threats & Safeguards Task Force. 

Thompson has been an active member of the Rhode Island Society of CPAs throughout her career, serving as president, vice president, secretary and treasurer.  Thompson is a graduate of the University of Rhode Island (B.S. Accounting) and Bryant College (Master of Science in Taxation).

The AICPA’s annual award is in honor of Arthur J. Dixon, a CPA who had an outstanding record of service to the tax profession and to the Institute’s Tax Division.  Dixon was chairman of the AICPA's Tax Executive Committee from 1977 to 1980 and posthumously won the first award named in his honor.  The award was established after his death in 1981 to honor outstanding CPAs in the area of taxes.

© 2017 Association of International Certified Professional Accountants. All rights reserved.