AICPA/Accountemps Announce $25,000 in Scholarships 

10 Undergraduate and Graduate Level Accounting Majors Receive $2,500 
Published October 23, 2013

Contact: James Schiavone, 212-596-6119,

New York (October 23, 2013) –
 The American Institute of CPAs today announced ten recipients of the 2013-2014 AICPA/Accountemps Student Scholarship.  This annual award is bestowed upon undergraduate and graduate-level accounting majors who aspire to become CPAs, demonstrate academic excellence and show exceptional leadership. Each recipient will receive a $2,500 award for the 2013-2014 academic year.

The 2013-2014 AICPA/Accountemps Student Scholarship recipients are listed in alphabetic order below:

·         Nicholas Boardman, Samford University

·         Hortencia Campbell, University of Texas - Austin

·         William Chandler, University of Washington

·         Mallory Coulombe, Southern New Hampshire University

·         Samantha Hairston, Georgia Southern University

·         Catherine Humphrey, University of Alabama

·         Jeffrey Ritter, University of Notre Dame

·         Alexandra Santomo, University of Louisville

·         Michael Shonce, University of Michigan

·         Nathan Sturos, Michigan Technological University

“The future of the accounting profession is reliant upon the pipeline of talent at the undergraduate and graduate level,” said Jeannie Patton, AICPA vice president, Academics, Professional Pathways and Inclusion. “These students are prime examples of the caliber of students poised to enter the profession, and we congratulate them on their noteworthy academic achievement.”

As AICPA/Accountemps Scholarship recipients, the 10 students become part of the AICPA Legacy Scholars program, which was established in 2011. The AICPA Legacy Scholars program awards recipients with a one-year AICPA scholarship and continues to offer benefits beyond their academic careers through the AICPA Legacy Scholars Alumni. Scholarship recipients perform eight hours of community service per semester. The service activity must relate to accounting, serve the community and be meaningful to the student.

AICPA Legacy Scholars are Student Affiliate Members of the AICPA, which is a free membership option available to all students who are enrolled in school. Each AICPA Legacy Scholar receives a coach who provides guidance on the student’s service project and serves as an advisor for questions related to the profession and the work environment.

The ten scholarship recipients were chosen from more than 1,214 applicants.  Eligible applicants must have maintained a minimum GPA of 3.0 and completed at least 30 semester hours in college-level coursework, including six semester hours in accounting.  A task force comprised of AICPA’s Pre-certification Education Executive Committee and Accountemps representatives selected the recipients based on academic achievement; demonstration of leadership and volunteerism; and overall commitment to becoming a licensed CPA professional.

“We are proud to partner with the AICPA to honor these outstanding students for their accomplishments as they prepare for their accounting careers,” said Andrew Denka, executive director of Accountemps. “They have set a strong foundation for their futures and are well on their way to being valuable members of our professional community.”

The application deadline for the 2014-15 AICPA/Accountemps Student Scholarship program is April 1, 2014.  For more information, about this and other scholarship programs offered to accounting students,


© 2017 Association of International Certified Professional Accountants. All rights reserved.