Press Release



Jonathan B. Cox

Joseph Walloch of Redlands, Calif., Receives 2011 Kess Award 

Award recognizes excellence in continuing education 
Published May 05, 2011

Las Vegas (May 5, 2011) — The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants today named Joseph W. Walloch, chief executive of Walloch & Associates in Redlands, Calif., the 2011 recipient of the Sidney Kess Award for Excellence in Continuing Education.


The award, created last year in honor of Kess, a nationally renowned tax expert, recognizes individual CPAs who have made significant and outstanding contributions in tax and financial planning and whose public service exemplifies the CPA profession’s values and ethics


“Joe Walloch’s contributions to the CPA profession are innumerable,” said Kess, chairman of the steering committee for AICPA Conference on Tax Strategies for the High-Income Individual. The award was presented to Walloch on behalf of the steering committee today in Las Vegas.


“A prolific lecturer, Joe has taught thousands of students and seasoned CPAs alike, from here all the way to China,” Kess continued. “And the commitment he has shown to his community is a model for us all.”


Walloch, a CPA for 38 years, has served as a tax speaker and lecturer throughout the United States. He has taught college courses at the Anderson Graduate School of Management at the University of California, Riverside, and at the University of Redlands. In May 1999 he served as a visiting professor at Xiamen University in China, teaching “Introduction to U.S. Taxation,” “The USA CPA Perspective,” and “Managing a CPA Practice.” He has served on the boards of the Boys and Girls Club of Redlands, the San Bernardino Valley College and Crafton Hills College Foundations, and the First United Methodist Foundation of Redlands. The father of two sons, Walloch also is active in theater.


The AICPA created the award to honor Kess, who, having lectured to more than 720,000 practitioners on tax, financial and estate planning, is one of the nation’s best known speakers in continuing professional education.  Only one CPA may receive the Sidney Kess Award in any given year, but there is no requirement that the award be given each calendar year. Nominations are solicited by the Tax Strategies for the High-Income Individual Conference Steering Committee and accepted between May 31 and January 31. The committee determines the recipient of the award.

Copyright © 2006-2016 American Institute of CPAs.