AICPA Awards Two-Year Transfer Scholarships 

Twenty-four Community College Transfer Students Each Receive $5,000 for Tuition 
Published November 14, 2016

Contact - James Schiavone, 212-596-6119,

New York (November 14, 2016)The American Institute of CPAs (AICPA) is pleased to announce the 24 students selected for the AICPA Foundation Two-Year Transfer Scholarship award. The scholarship is given to students currently enrolled at a two-year college who are transferring to a four-year college or university to complete a degree in accounting. Each recipient will be awarded $5,000 for the 2016-2017 school year, with funding provided by the AICPA Foundation,

With the growing cost of college tuition, community college provides an alternative to four-year universities and makes it feasible for students to get a two-year degree. According to a report released in March 2015 by the National Student Clearinghouse Research Center, 46 percent of students who completed a four-year degree had been enrolled at a two-year institution at some point in the past 10 years.

Every year, many accounting students transfer from two-year colleges to four-year universities,” said Joanne Fiore, AICPA vice president of professional media, academic and student engagement. “The AICPA Foundation Two-Year Transfer Scholarship aims to recognize these outstanding students for their achievements, and provide them with resources and mentorship as they work to earn a CPA license.”

The 2016-2017 AICPA Foundation Two-Year Transfer Scholarship award recipients are listed below in alphabetical order:

Brenda Bahena

Henderson State University

Aziz Bourslia

Cleveland State University

Paige Eggers

State University of Iowa

Kaylee Ewing

University of Georgia

Patricia Fairchild

Portland State University

William Gonzales-Calixto

University of Central Florida

Hayden Guild

Western Michigan University

Yolanda Gulley

Middle Tennessee State University

Bartosz Kozmic

Northern Illinois University

Landon Leisek

Utah State University

Meiyu Li

Suffolk University

Voltan Lipo

Western Connecticut State University

Joshua Margowski

Northern Illinois University

Teri Moreland

Wiley College

Cesar Ordonez

Rutgers University

Michael Schlag

SUNY New Paltz

Asseta Seogo

Philadelphia University

Nadja Skuljic

University of Missouri - St. Louis

Jaime Sneade

California State University - East Bay

Joseph Sterling

Grand Valley State University

Sache Thomas

The University of NC at Charlotte

Jessica Valandingham

Arizona State University

Alex Villa

University of North Texas

Willow Waldock

University of Nebraska

The AICPA Foundation Two-Year Transfer Scholarship award is one of four scholarship awards available through the AICPA Legacy Scholars program. The program was created in 2011 and awards recipients a one-year AICPA scholarship while helping to develop the soft skills needed to sustain a successful career through service. Scholarship recipients perform eight hours of service each semester planning and executing events on campus to advocate for the accounting profession.

The AICPA Legacy Scholars program will provide more than 100 scholarships for the 2016-2017 academic year, totaling more than $630,000 for students across the nation. AICPA Legacy Scholars are Student Affiliate Members of the AICPA, which is a free-membership option available to college students. Each AICPA Legacy Scholar is given access to a coach who provides mentoring for the student’s service events and guidance in relation to the profession.

Each eligible AICPA Legacy Scholarship applicant must have a minimum GPA of 3.0 and completed at least 30 semester hours in college-level coursework, including six semester hours in accounting. A task force comprised of AICPA Student Recruitment Committee members and CPA volunteers selected the recipients based on academic achievement; demonstration of leadership and volunteerism; and overall commitment to becoming a licensed CPA.

The application deadline for the 2017-2018 AICPA Legacy Scholarship is April 1, 2017. More information about the Legacy Scholars Program and other scholarship awards offered to accounting students is available online.


© 2017 Association of International Certified Professional Accountants. All rights reserved.