Not-for-Profit Entities Revenue Recognition Task Force 

    AICPA Revenue Recognition Task Forces are charged with developing revenue recognition implementation issues that will provide helpful hints and illustrative examples for how to apply the new Revenue Recognition Standard.

    Task Force Members:

    • Stuart Miller, Crowe (Chair)
    • Elaine Allen, Ernst & Young LLP
    • Cathy Clarke, Clifton Larson Allen
    • John Griffin, AARP
    • Jennifer Hoffman, Grant Thorton
    • Neena Masih, BDO LLP
    • John Mattie, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
    • Sue Menditto, NACUBO
    • Mig Murphy Sistrom, Mig Murphy Sistrom CPA
    • Amanda Nelson, KPMG LLP
    • Susan Stewart, McGladrey LLP
    Staff Contact: Chris Cole,


    Below is a list of potential revenue recognition implementation issues identified by the Not-for-Profit Entities Revenue Recognition Task Force. The list will be updated as the task force continues it discussions. Full revenue recognition implementation issues will be posted below for informal comments after review by the AICPA Financial Reporting Executive Committee (FinREC).

    Issue # Description of Implementation Issue
    1 Tuition Revenue
    2 Tuition Discounts
    3 Contributions
    4 Government Grants with deliverables
    5 Government Grants-best effort
    6 Sponsorships
    7 Subscriptions
    8 Special Events
    9 Revenue vs. Agency Transactions
    10 Government Grants-appropriations
    11 Membership Dues
    12 Royalties/Licensing
    13 Service Concession Arrangements
    14 Charitable Remainder Trusts


    Draft Revenue Recognition Implementation Issues included for informal comment, when available, will be listed below.

    Respondents should submit any comments including the implementation issue number to by the dates noted below:

    Issue # Comment Due Date

    The Not-for-Profit Entities Revenue Recognition Task Force and the Not-for-Profit Entities Expert Panel recommend the following AICPA products for current revenue recognition issues:

    A A A

    Copyright © 2006-2014 American Institute of CPAs.